DIY Lip Scrub

 

Hey Loves,

I don’t know about you guys but in this cold weather my lips get really dry and flaky which can not only be uncomfortable and annoying but effect the application of lipsticks especially matte ones, dry flaky lips are a real nuisance and can cause lip biting and peeling which can leave the lips feeling sore and sensitive, its really important to care for our lips according to the weather conditions, well moisturised in the colder months and SPF protected in the hotter ones as the skin on our lips is really thin and delicate.

I use a simple DIY lip scrub to gently exfoliate my lips leaving them beautifully soft.

You will need…

  • Brown or white sugar (optional)
  • Organic Coconut oil
  • A small container
  • Mixing bowl and spoon
  • Vanilla extract (optional)

FullSizeRender (53)

FullSizeRender (57)

Mix Together…

 

FullSizeRender (52)

Voila! decanter into your container

 

Method

Decanter a small amount of sugar about 2 tsps.depending on the amount you’d like to make into the mixing bowl (although I prefer brown sugar I only had white to hand but both are equally effective), then add a heaped teaspoon of softened coconut oil and a tiny drop of vanilla extract (which is totally optional I love the smell of coconut oil itself so I left this ingredient out) to the sugar and decanter into your container and hey presto your done!

Application

Apply your lip exfoliator and gently massage on your lips in circular motions for a minute or two, then simply wipe or rinse off and apply an effective lip balm or salve. My favourite is Rose & Co Rose petal salve, which is a multi use salve for lips, cuticles rough skin, dry patches lashes or brows, it’s made in the UK and is not tested on animals… I have used this for a couple of years and absolutely love the stuff!

FullSizeRender (54)

 

Keep this mixture handy for exfoliating the lips a couple times a week and you lips will be amazingly soft and flake free!

Note: please pay in mind that coconut oil liquefies in warm conditions so try to keep it at moderate temperature, simply refrigerate if mixture becomes too warm and soft.

I purchased my Rose & Co’s salve from ASOS for £3.99, to purchase or for more info please click here

What’s lips scrubs do you recommend? do you buy or DIY them?

xo

About 50shadesofjadebeauty

This is just a short introduction of myself and what I do, I am a Qualified Beauty Therapist & Nail Technician, I have worked in the beauty industry for around 8 years and have a absolute passion for anything Beauty industry related! I have worked with numerous makeup & skincare brands such as Benefit cosmetics, Clarins, Vichy, Avene, Darphin and La Prairie to name just a few! I feel that having gained some experience in these areas I have picked up lots of beauty tips, tricks & advice along the way which I want to share With you! Please follow me on Instagram @50shadesofjadebeauty & my Twitter @jdahmarie & keep and eye out for my upcoming YouTube channel... Smooches & Deuces xo
Link | This entry was posted in Skincare and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Lip Scrub

  1. Pingback: Colourpop obsession continued…  | 50 Shades of Jade Beauty

Leave a Reply

