My Concealer Faves

Hey loves,

I’m always on the lookout for a great concealer whether it be high end or drug store, I want full coverage but not cakey and that’s hard to find at times, especially for my skin tone.

Unfortunately I was blessed hereditarily with dark under eye circles and this has been more promenant after I had my daughter so I need a cover up that works with my powder foundation that looks as natural as it possibly can.

In this post I will be sharing my favourite concealers so far and what works for me and also what didn’t quite work out for me and my skin.

cf fl (1)

 

Nars Radiant creamy concealer

I’m a big fan of Nars and I love this concealer! I have the shade custard, It’s a great colour for my skin tone I got a slightly lighter shade for a highlighting effect, the coverage is fairly good, if I’m having a particularly bad dark under eye day I have to double up on the layers a bit, I use my beauty blender to apply this flawlessly, it feels more or less weightless on the skin which is a plus for me and most importantly it doesn’t crease which is fab!

nars fl

The reason is one of my faves is because its long wearing and crease-proof, its also paraben-free, Alcohol free, Synthetic fragrance free and Non commedogenic so gets a thumbs up from me!

I purchased this concealer from John Lewis for £22 click here for more information or to purchase.

Mac Prep & Prime Highlighter

I like this nifty pen it’s not full coverage as its highlighter, I use the shade bright forecast which is slightly pinker than the other available shades, it’s great for highlighting and i tend to use it along with another concealer for full coverage, it lasts me quite a while which is good for a twist pen.

mac fl

Unfortunately for me I find Mac full coverage concealers too heavy for my skin so this is a great alternative as I can layer it.

This concealer can be purchased at any Mac store, counter or online for £19, for more info or to purchase click here

Make Up Revolution Cover & Conceal palette

I love make up revolution! however I was slightly disappointed with this palette… and I will tell you why, I got this palette in light/medium which are all great shades for my particular skin tone, however I have oily/combination skin and I found this a bit oily for my skin type, I definately think this pallete would suit drier skin, the coverage was ok it didn’t cover a great deal for me, especially my dark circles… I found if I used another concealer as a base, set it, then used the palette on top and set it again it wasn’t too bad.

mr fl

FullSizeRender (59)

The packaging is nice and sleek, the range of 8 Concealers in this palette is a plus if you find it hard to find a match for your skin tone, it comes in a box which helpfully shows the shades to you on the back, you can mix or even contour with these shades if you’re fair skinned too! this palette comes in 3 shades light, light to medium and dark, the price of this palette is fab at just £6! but disappointingly it just didn’t work for my skin.

This concealer can be purchased at Make up Revolutions website here or Superdrug online here

Maybelline anti aging eye eraser

THIS CONCEALER IS AMAZING! I was so shocked by this product! After hearing about this concealer for a while I thought I’d try it out and I can honestly say I was not disappointed!

maybelline fl

This concealer covers my dark circles beautifully, it’s not drying or cakey and it contains goji berries and haloxyl for an anti aging and moisturising effect, the only thing I would say is the uk only seem to stock two colours from the range and in the US and other parts of the EU I believe there are more shades available which is frustrating, here we only have light and nude, my skin tone is fairly light for my mixed race origin so I have both and mix them, I can use the nude shade on its own for full coverage and the light shade I use or mix with the nude for a highlighting effect.

The sponge applicator on the top is unlike any concealer I’ve tried before, it has a handy twist mechanism which is a good idea for controlling how much product you use, one or two twists should do the trick, it can be easy to overdo it a little goes a long way and the less product wastage the better.

This Concealer does crease a little so it is important to set it, but once set well this concealer doesn’t really budge so I definitely recommend a fine milled setting powder to set this in place for real staying power, I use Ben Nye Banana powder which I’ve blogged about before, for the How to achieve a Kim K glow post click here

Considering this isn’t a high end brand it has performed just as well maybe even better than the more expensive concealers I’ve tried before! I am really impressed and will be stocking up on these, a new holy grail product for sure!

I purchased this concealer at Superdrug for £7.99 for more info or to purchase click here

Have you tried any of these concealers? how did they work for you? drop me a comment I would love to know!

Get Social with me…

F A C E B O O K | I N S T A G R A M | S N A P C H A T | T W I T T E R

xo

About 50shadesofjadebeauty

This is just a short introduction of myself and what I do, I am a Qualified Beauty Therapist & Nail Technician, I have worked in the beauty industry for around 8 years and have a absolute passion for anything Beauty industry related! I have worked with numerous makeup & skincare brands such as Benefit cosmetics, Clarins, Vichy, Avene, Darphin and La Prairie to name just a few! I feel that having gained some experience in these areas I have picked up lots of beauty tips, tricks & advice along the way which I want to share With you! Please follow me on Instagram @50shadesofjadebeauty & my Twitter @jdahmarie & keep and eye out for my upcoming YouTube channel... Smooches & Deuces xo
Link | This entry was posted in Make up and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Concealer Faves

  1. Pingback: Nars Faves  | 50 Shades of Jade Beauty

Leave a Reply

