Keep em clean…

Hey guys,

Did you know that dirty make up brushes are one of the main causes of problematic skin and breakouts?

Make up brushes harbour a lot of bacteria so it’s is very important that you wash them regularly no matter how much of a chore it is!

It doesn’t matter how much you take care of your skin by cleansing, toning and moisturising this will all be undone if you are applying your make up with dirty brushes…

I came across these surprising statistics recently online that shockingly 39% of women who use makeup brushes don’t clean them even once a month. Even worse, 22% admitted never cleaning them at all!

Errmmaaghadd! 

Keep em clean ladies !

How I clean my make up brushes

Yes I’m going to admit that I LOATHE cleaning make up brushes its such a chore but so worth it if you want to maintain good skin.

I usually clean my brushes twice a month minimum, here are the steps I take to cleanse my brushes and what I use to do so.

There are plenty of products out there to use to clean your brushes some specifically designed for this purpose but I swear by baby shampoo it’s gentle not too stripping and does the trick.

Step 1: use your sink or a basin fill half way with warm but not too hot water, just dipping the brush head in to wet them squeeze out some shampoo (about a grape size amount) into your palm and in circular motions swirl the brush in it making sure you are cleansing the base of the brush too, paying extra attention to foundation and powder brushes (the ones which do the most blending and use with more heavier products)

Step 2: once all the brushes have been soaped up start to rinse out the brushes, again taking care not to submerge the handles, I tend to soap them all up then rinse them all as it’s easier.

Step 3: change the water and if needed repeat steps one and two, keep rinsing the brushes until the soap has gone and the water is clear.

Step 4: squeeze out the excess water and use a clean towel to hand dry and lay flat all the brushes on.

Step 5: once you’ve hand dried them as much as possible lay them flat on a clean dry towel or paper towel to dry naturally, do not use heat to dry them as this can effect the glue bonding or synthetic fibres used altering the life span of your brushes.

I usually wash my brushes when I know I won’t be wearing makeup for a day or two giving them time to air dry, I know this can be a pain because u need them right? but trust me it’s worth it!

Tips:

  • Never submerge the whole brush including handle into water this can cause the handle to expand and loosen the glue bonding the bristles (synthetic or not) to start shedding, coming out in clumps or the brush head coming out completely!
  • it’s normal for some brushes to start shedding a little during use after you’ve washed and dryed them especially non synthetic ones.
  • You can also wipe over your brushes in between cleaning with an anti bacterial wipe to help keep them clean.
  • Make sure you clean your eyelash curlers too to prevent the risk of eye infections.
  • This method can be used for beauty blenders and sponges too.

So there you have it it’s totally worth the effort, if you do this regularly you are cutting down your chances of breakouts and also getting the most out of your makeup products via application, your make up will thank you as you won’t be contaminating it too!

Get social with me…

F A C E B O O K | I N S T A G R A M | S N A P C H A T | T W I T T E R

fullsizerender-30XO

About 50shadesofjadebeauty

This is just a short introduction of myself and what I do, I am a Qualified Beauty Therapist & Nail Technician, I have worked in the beauty industry for around 8 years and have a absolute passion for anything Beauty industry related! I have worked with numerous makeup & skincare brands such as Benefit cosmetics, Clarins, Vichy, Avene, Darphin and La Prairie to name just a few! I feel that having gained some experience in these areas I have picked up lots of beauty tips, tricks & advice along the way which I want to share With you! Please follow me on Instagram @50shadesofjadebeauty & my Twitter @jdahmarie & keep and eye out for my upcoming YouTube channel... Smooches & Deuces xo
Link | This entry was posted in Make up, Skincare and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

