Salicylic Acid Peel

Hey guys,

Since Turning 30 in January I have become more aware of getting the most out of my skin and trying to keep it clear, hydrated and as youthful looking as possible.

So instead of the usual lotions, potions and anti aging creams which are an obvious solution I’d thought I would try something stronger and more effective over a short period of time hence a peel.

Now peels are usually done at salons and are in fact a lot stronger than any peel for use at home, the percentage of acid used is much higher in salon where as usually for home use the percentage won’t go above 10% which mean it can be used more often.

Today I will be reviewing a salicylic acid peel which is 2% from Bravura London. I have talked about Bravura London in previous reviews for the Dermaflannel review click here and for the First oil cleanse and Calendula toner review click here

Bravura Salicylic acid peel 2%

img_0155

Why salicylic acid?

This 2% daily salicylic acid exfoliator is great for treating skin complaints such as blackheads, enlarged pores, congested skin and acne where the skin is oily,  these skin issues are caused by the skin being clogged by excess oil and dead skin so using a peel daily will give far superior results than using a stronger peel once a week.

Salicylic Acid is much stronger than other acids so it is highly effective in lower percentage solutions, Salicylic acid is a common treatment for helping to treat breakouts and keep the skin clear along with other benefits.

So what exactly can it be used for?

Salicylic Acid has been known to help the following conditions;

  • Acne
  • Blackheads
  • Over production of sebum (oily skin)
  • Open/enlarged pores
  • Bumps under the skin (trapped oil)
  • Milia

Salicylic Acid is a highly effective chemical exfoliant and an excellent pore cleanser with anti wrinkle and anti acne properties. It works by gently removing old cells from the skin, and also boosts collagen production which in turn can reduce the appearance of lines and wrinkles too!

How to use

  1. Start with cleansed skin, please do not use any type of exfoliators or harsh products on the skin before hand to prevent over exfoliating.
  2. wait 30 mins but no more than an hour before you use this peel, this is because you need to wait for the skin to return to its normal PH level. With a old makeup brush or the advised special application brush recommended sweep the acid on the forehead, cheeks, nose and chin area being careful to avoid the eye area and under eye area nostrils and lips.
  3. wait around 2-5 mins depending on your skin sensitivity.
  4. rinse thoroughly  with warm not hot water this will deactivate the acid and remove it from the skin you can then moisturise.

When you purchase any of Bravura London’s peels and skincare you will receive an in depth instruction leaflet please make sure you read and follow these instructions carefully especially with the acid peels.

Disclaimer

I have simplified the how to use steps for easy reading but if you are going to use these peels please remember to read the leaflet and do a test patch on your skin!

My Results

After using this product for coming up to a month I can honestly say that I really love it, I was in fact quite nervous and I have never used an acid peel before and after reading the instructions and information thoroughly it was actually very easy to use.

I use this peel every other day with the recommended brush and although bravura state that the skin in the first couple weeks whilst using this product will possibly breakout (this is called purging removing all the impurities) It wasn’t as bad as I thought I only got a few blemishes.

Overall my skin feels smoother and looks more even in tone and brighter and I will definitely continue to use this as part of my skincare routine, this peel costs as little as £9.59 and the application brush £3.48 so affordable and effective!

You can purchase this product from the Bravura London website, for more information or to purchase click here

Have you tried these products before? how did they work for you I’d love to know!

Get social with me…

F A C E B O O K | I N S T A G R A M | S N A P C H A T | T W I T T E R

fullsizerender-30XO

 

About 50shadesofjadebeauty

This is just a short introduction of myself and what I do, I am a Qualified Beauty Therapist & Nail Technician, I have worked in the beauty industry for around 8 years and have a absolute passion for anything Beauty industry related! I have worked with numerous makeup & skincare brands such as Benefit cosmetics, Clarins, Vichy, Avene, Darphin and La Prairie to name just a few! I feel that having gained some experience in these areas I have picked up lots of beauty tips, tricks & advice along the way which I want to share With you! Please follow me on Instagram @50shadesofjadebeauty & my Twitter @jdahmarie & keep and eye out for my upcoming YouTube channel... Smooches & Deuces xo
Link | This entry was posted in Beauty treatments, Skincare and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

